Why Chuck Wendig is Awesome (But You Already Know That) ;-)

I’ve recently been singing the (well-deserved) praises of Chuck Wendig’s how-to book for writers, entitled The Kick-Ass Writer, which, after reading it, has now become the quintessential book on writing for writers that I will talk up and recommend.

Considering the relevance of such issues as self-published writers, hybrid authors (of which Wendig himself is a fantastic example), marketing for authors, but more than that, a return to tips on how to hone one’s craft, I consider this book to be an indispensable resource for writers both aspiring and established. We can all stand to learn a thing or two from Mr. Wendig. I’ve highlighted the three most inspiring pull-out quotes that resonated with me, which you will find below:

On Not Giving Up:

[It] takes time. Stories need to find the right home, the right audience. Stick with it. Push like you’re pooping. Quitting is for sad pandas.

On Connecting with Your Fellow Writers:

[Social media is] a great way to connect with other penmonkeys and creative types and engage, interact, and amuse. It’s important for writers to know other writers. It’s how we get book blurbs or find out what bottle of bourbon we should try. It used to be you had to travel to conventions and conferences to do it. Now you can do it at home. Without pants.

On When You Question Your Sanity and Why We Do This Writing Thing:

You do it because you love it.
You do it because you want to be read.
You tell stories because you’re a storyteller. And because stories matter.

I couldn’t have said those things better myself. One of the best things about Wendig’s blog, is his concession to the fact that ultimately, there are many advice givers out there to guide aspiring writers, but ultimately, there is no one set formula, or one magic trick, or one narrow way of doings things. There are multiple avenues to success. And there are multiple suggestions on how to achieve it. Wendig asserts that advice is just “suggestions” and that what works for one person may not necessarily work with another, so it’s important to take these types of texts with a grain of salt.

What are some of the other “essential” how-to writing books that line your bookshelves?

2 thoughts on “Why Chuck Wendig is Awesome (But You Already Know That) ;-)”

  1. I enjoyed his “500 Ways to Tell a Better Story” and now I want to read this one as well! Sounds like a great, useful read. And I love his sense of humour.
    For me recently, the go-to writing books have been Victoria Mixon’s “The Art and Craft of Story: 2nd Practitioner’s Manual” and “Story Engineering” by Larry Brooks. They completely changed the way I approached writing fiction, in part because I had struggled for so long with how to effectively structure a novel and know what/what/how to cut things. I now evaluate my story concepts according to Brooks’ advice (he has some great questions for any writer to ask of their story ideas) and I outline all my stories according to Mixon’s holographic structure. Both have saved me much time and angst when figuring out not only what my story is about, but whether and how well it’s working.

    Like

    1. Hi David!
      Thanks for the comment! I will definitely have to check out the Victoria Mixon and Larry Brooks books you recommended as well! They sound very useful!

      Thanks!
      Anita

      Like

Comments are closed.