My Top 5 Holiday Films to Get in the Christmas Spirit

Christmas Movie Panorama

It’s that time of year again, and everyone seems to have their particular holiday favourites to get them in the festive spirit. I’ve put together a list of the top 5 films I re-watch every holiday season as the ones I look most forward to and some of the things I like about them.

Nightmare Before Christmas
Why I love this film: Tim Burton, creepy but charming skeleton, creepy but charming corpse, creepy but charming love story, a fusion of Halloween and Christmas, a compelling story, and good-old fashioned creepy fun. What’s not to love?

Home Alone 1
Why I love this film: Remember when Macaulay Culkin as Kevin was America’s darling? A cute but sassy kid whose mission it was to defend the house from Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern? Gosh, I miss those days 😉 Although I also love Home Alone 2 because it’s like a kid in a candy store with Kevin’s misadventures continuing in the Big Apple, Home Alone 1 is like a comforting teddy bear.

Sure the “tender” family moments are over the top and schmaltzy but it’s good fun to watch Kevin’s hilarious journey from scared little kid to defender of his family’s house. Plus, “Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree” and Three Stooges-style slapstick humour. Gotta love it.

How the Grinch Stole Christmas
Why I love this film: This is like another comforting childhood teddy bear or blanket. Every time I watch the scene where the Grinch’s heart grows three sizes too big, I get a little misty-eyed because it’s a reminder not to be a Grinch as an adult 😉 Whether it’s Boris Karloff’s impeccable voice work (remember, he played Frankenstein) or the Grinch’s hilarious over-the-top devious smile, this short film puts me in the Christmas spirit every time I watch it.

Love, Actually
Why I love this film: Aside from the fact that this film has pretty much all of my favourite British people of all time (although it doesn’t have Stephen Fry or Hugh Laurie, or any of the other Brits I’ve come to admire over the years), it has healthy doses of humour, drama, heartfelt moments, a wonderful soundtrack, and is another feel-good movie that gets me every time. Plus, Hugh Grant dancing around the Prime Minister’s quarters like a buffoon. Classic 😉

It’s A Wonderful Life
Why I love this film: There’s a reason Frank Capra’s classic is a perennial staple and remains a favourite for so many folks. It’s a look back, a reminder at simpler times when life seemed simpler, people simpler, but at its heart we can all relate to so many moments.

I should also point out that thanks to this film I can’t take Jimmy Stewart seriously in any of the dramatic roles he plays because he just sends me into fits of laughter, but that’s a different story 😉

But I think one of the reasons people return to this film every holiday season aside from the “tradition” aspect is because in this world we live in, we need reminders that humanity isn’t all bad. Despite the hordes of bad news we see and consume every day, we need to know that there is still fundamentally good in humanity.

Those are my top picks that I make it a point not to miss. What about you? What are some of your favourites? Your can’t misses and the staples around your household? Sound off below!

2 thoughts on “My Top 5 Holiday Films to Get in the Christmas Spirit”

Comments are closed.