Women In Horror Month Feature: Mercedes M. Yardley

mercedes m yardley author

  About the Author:

Hi. I’m Mercedes. I have two broken laptops, three kids, a husband and no   time to write, although I try my very best. I like to write stories. I like to
write poems. I like to write essays and sometimes they’re funny,
sometimes they aren’t. I’m the author of the short story collection
Beautiful Sorrows, the “serial killers in love” novella Apocalyptic
Montessa 
and Nuclear Lulu: A Tale of Atomic Love, my debut
novel Nameless: The Darkness Comes, and Pretty Little Dead
Girls: A Novel of Murder and 
Whimsy. I specialize in the dark and
beautiful.

As part of a neat little twist to my Women in Horror Month coverage this year, I’m going to feature fun little interviews with a few women horror writers and I think readers will get a kick out of them.

First up is Mercedes M. Yardley, author of such books as Pretty Little Dead Girls, Nameless, Apocaltypic Montessa and Nuclear Lulu (which, incidentally, got a fantastic review recently from Bob R. Milne of the Beauty in Ruins blog), and short fiction collection Beautiful Sorrows to name a few.

If I start blathering on about the ways in which Mercedes is awesome, I would never stop 😉 Instead, I’m going to launch into our brief and fun Q&A. Enjoy!

1. First scary movie you watched

MMY: I watched Unico and the Island of Magic, which was pretty frightening for a little girl. But I think the first real scary movies for me were Ghoulies and Gremlins. My cousins and I watched them together one weekend. I think we threw Jaws into the mix, too. Thank you, dear cousins, for being so horrifying. I cried every time I took a bath for at least two weeks.

unico movie

2. First scary book you read

MMY: Stephen King’s IT. It terrified me to no end. I already had a healthy fear of clowns and naturally it only made it worse.

Stephen King IT

3. First scary Halloween costume you wore

MMY: Vampire, with bloody tears and a bloody mouth. I adore vampires. Always have, and despite the frustrating oversaturation of vamps right now, I probably always will.

4. First scary thing you wrote

MMY: I wrote a horror story in the third grade about a sea serpent that killed people. But in high school I wrote a poem called “The Nightmare People” that got me sent to the school psychologist. I consider that a win.

It also drove home how powerful words really were. Typing words on a paper caused actual fear in my creative writing teacher. Very harrowing and exciting, that.

5. First scary character you had a crush on

MMY: Oh, let’s take it back, darling. Waaaaaay back. I was wildly in love with Dracula, of course. He was so elegant. I love elegant monsters. I was also in love with the silver-haired bad guy from Voltron. For anyone 21 or younger, it was an animated version of Power Rangers. And the silver-haired villain (Prince Lotor) was my love. Him, and Batman, of course.

Prince-Lotor


Grimm-Mistresses-cover-for-Mercedes-post
Mercedes has a novelette in the anthology Grimm Mistresses from Ragnarok Publications, which is slated to release on February 23.
Here’s a description:
Remember the Grimm Brothers? Those dark fairy tales that made you leave the light on long before Disney went and sanitized them? Well, we do! Now the MISTRESSES GRIMM take back the night, five female authors who will leave you shuddering deliciously. Get ready to leave the lights on again with four pieces of short fiction bringing the Grimm Brother’s tales into the present. Be advised: these aren’t your children’s fairy tales! 

Further Reading:
Mercedes has done quite a few other Women in Horror Month interviews of note–here are a few of them:

I hope you’ve all enjoyed this chat with the wonderful Mercedes. If you’ve never had occasion to read her work before, I hope you’ll give it a try and if you’ve been a longtime fan, then I hope you enjoyed our little exchange 🙂

9 thoughts on “Women In Horror Month Feature: Mercedes M. Yardley”

  1. Aaaah, you keep changing your blog design! Every time I visit it’s different, and I have to double-check if I’m in the right place. I must be getting old because I can’t remember my first to many of your questions. Jaws is not something you ever forget though!

    Carmel @ Rabid Reads

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Carmel! LOL sorry! I read that it was bad to have light text and a dark background so I had to change my blog design 😉 But yes! Jaws is definitely a memorable experience for all 😉 Thanks for the Audible recommendation, as well!
      –Anita

      Like

Comments are closed.