Women in Horror Month Feature: Teresa Frohock

Teresa FrohockAbout the Author:

Teresa Frohock has turned a love of dark fantasy and horror into tales of deliciously creepy fiction. Teresa is the author of Miserere: An Autumn Tale and has a short story, “Naked the Night Sings,” in the urban fantasy anthology Manifesto: UF. Another story, “Love, Crystal and Stone” appears in The Neverland’s Library Fantasy Anthology. Her novella, The Broken Road, is available through Amazon and Barnes and Noble. Her most recent work is a novelette written with author Alex Bledsoe entitled Hisses and Wings.

Teresa lives in North Carolina where she has long been accused of telling stories, which is a southern colloquialism for lying.

As part of a neat little twist to my Women in Horror Month coverage this year, I’m going to feature fun little interviews with a few women horror writers and I think readers will get a kick out of them.

The next feature is for Teresa Frohock, author of such books as Miserere and The Broken Road.

To offset the dark subject matter in her writing, she has great humour and quirkiness. Check our our interview.

1. First scary movie you watched

TF: Wow. You’re asking me to go waaaaaaay back in the wayback machine, but … the first movie that I can recall as being truly horrifying is Alfred Hitchcock’s The Birds. I don’t remember how old I was, but I had this little black and white television set in my bedroom, and they were running The Birds on as the Sunday afternoon movie of the week.

the birds movie poster

I was rapt throughout the whole film. I think it is one of my favorite Hitchcock movies, because The Birds proves that you don’t need gore to make a perfectly horrific movie. Hitchcock’s pacing and storytelling carried that movie by implanting all the right images in the viewer’s head and allowing my imagination to supply the rest.

I’m still scared of birds.

2. First scary book you read

TF: Carrie by Stephen King. I’m sure I read others, but Carrie was the first book that made such a deep impression on me that I knew I wanted to read more horror. I think it also hit home with me, because I knew of religious extremists like Carrie’s mother. So, in many ways (from being the high school outcast to living in a small town), Carrie resonated with me.

carrie stephen king cover

3. First scary Halloween costume you wore

TF: A witch. Of course.

4. First scary thing you wrote

TF: I think my first attempt at horror was a unicorn that ate corpses. He was kind of cool. He was short and stunted like a small pony and his horn was broken in half. He had wild, staring eyes and foamed at the mouth. I rather liked him and will probably use him again sometime. I had another unicorn story where the unicorn was essentially a pimp for a vampire.

Unicorns. All that sweetness is just a disguise for evil. Yes, it is.

5. First scary character you had a crush on

TF: Frank Langella in Dracula. I’ve always been a sucker for dark hair and eyes. Okay. I just love men, but Langella was beautiful in Dracula. I crushed on him hard. He’s still beautiful. It’s definitely the eyes.

dracula frank langella 1979

 


the broken road teresa frohock
Teresa released a novella called The Broken Road in September 2014.

Here’s a description:
The world of Lehbet is under siege. The threads that divide Lehbet from the mirror world of Heled are fraying, opening the way for an invasion by an alien enemy that feeds on human flesh.

Travys, the youngest of the queen’s twin sons, was born mute. He is a prince of the Chanteuse, nobles who channel their magic through their voices. Their purpose is to monitor the threads and close the paths between the worlds, but the Chanteuse have given themselves over to decadence. They disregard their responsibilities to the people they protect—all but Travys, who fears he’ll fail to wake the Chanteuse to Heled’s threat in time to prevent the destruction of Lehbet.

Within the palace, intrigue creates illusions of love where there is none, and when Travys’ own brother turns against him, he is forced to flee all that he has known and enter the mirror world of Heled where the enemy has already won. In Heled, he must find his true voice and close the threads, or lose everyone that he loves.

Further Reading:
Here are a few interviews Teresa has done that you can read through:

I hope you’ve all enjoyed this chat with Teresa or ‘T’ as she goes by. If you’ve never had occasion to read her work before, I hope you’ll give it a try and if you’ve been a longtime fan, then I hope you enjoyed our little exchange 🙂

8 thoughts on “Women in Horror Month Feature: Teresa Frohock”

  1. A unicorn that ate corpses—I like where you are going with this! Take something beautiful, and corrupt it to create a horror story out of it. I pretty much adore all reincarnations of Dracula, but Jeaniene Frost`s is my fav, although Frank Langella`s not exactly hard on the eyes either.

    Carmel @ Rabid Reads

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.