Women in Horror Month Feature: JH Moncrieff

Posted on Updated on

JH Moncrieff author

  About the Author:

Raised in the far north, amid Jack London’s world of dog sleds and dark winters, J.H. Moncrieff has been a professional writer all of her adult life.

During her years as a journalist, she tracked down snipers and canoed through crocodile-infested waters. She has published hundreds of articles in national and international magazines and newspapers.

When she’s not writing, J.H. loves to travel to exotic locations, advocate for animal rights, and muay thai kickbox. She’s an avid reader of many different genres, including thrillers, suspense, true crime, memoirs, cookbooks, women’s fiction, and horror.

As part of a neat little twist to my Women in Horror Month coverage this year, I’m going to feature fun little interviews with a few women horror writers and I think readers will get a kick out of them.

This week’s featured scribe is newcomer J.H. Moncrieff, author of the forthcoming horror novel The Bear Who Wouldn’t Leave from Samhain Horror, which is slated for release in early May 2015.

Both she–and her words–pack quite a one-two punch. Here’s our interview:

1. First scary movie you watched

JHM: The first scary movie I watched was Salem’s Lot. When I watched it later, I thought it was hilarious, but as a kid, it terrified me! I had nightmares for weeks.

salems lot movie poster

2. First scary book you read

JHM: The first scary book I read was actually a series of non-fiction books entitled Monsters; Ghosts; and UFOs. I found them at the school library. Those also gave me nightmares, to the point that my mom told me not to read them anymore.

time life UFO series

3. First scary Halloween costume you wore

JHM: My first scary Halloween costume had to be Boy George. I was a little girl trying to look like the lead singer of Culture Club in my mom’s sunhat and winter gloves. Trust me—that was chilling!

Boy George 80s culture club

4. First scary thing you wrote

JHM: The first scary thing I wrote was a story about a vampire who devoured everything. I was in the fourth grade and had just learned the word “devour,” so I was very proud of it. The local paper published this story. I have no idea what they were thinking!

5. First scary character you had a crush on

JHM: The first scary character I had a crush on was Jason Patric’s vampire in The Lost Boys. He was so beautiful, and still is today.

jason patric lost boys

 


As mentioned above, J.H. Moncrieff’s forthcoming novel from Samhain Horror, The Bear Who Wouldn’t Leave, is slated for release in May 2015.


the bear who wouldnt leave horror book coverHere’s a description:
Sometimes evil looks like a fuzzy teddy bear.
Still grieving the untimely death of his dad, ten-year-old Josh Leary is reluctant to accept a well-worn stuffed teddy bear from his new stepfather. He soon learns he was right to be wary. Edgar is no ordinary toy…and he doesn’t like being rejected. When Josh banishes him to the closet, terrible things begin to happen. Desperate to be rid of the bear, Josh engages the help of a friend. As the boys’ efforts rebound on them with horrifying results, Josh is forced to accept the truth—Edgar will always get even.

 

And now, for your viewing pleasure, here is the book trailer:

 

I hope you’ve all enjoyed this chat with J.H. Moncrieff. Be sure to check our her forthcoming title from Samhain 🙂

23 thoughts on “Women in Horror Month Feature: JH Moncrieff

    jmh said:
    1:33 pm at 13:33

    Thanks so much for featuring me! This is a wonderful series and I’ve enjoyed getting to know other women in horror.

    Liked by 1 person

      A.E. Siraki responded:
      1:41 pm at 13:41

      My pleasure! Thanks for participating and for the signal boost on the other posts–much appreciated 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        jmh said:
        1:43 pm at 13:43

        No problem at all. It’s a great series. Very interesting and quick to read.

        Liked by 1 person

    Chris said:
    1:44 pm at 13:44

    I love The Lost Boys! Kiefer Sutherland’s character was pretty freaky. Haven’t seen Salem’s Lot, but now I won’t lose any sleep over it. Great interview!

    Liked by 2 people

      A.E. Siraki responded:
      1:48 pm at 13:48

      Lost Boys is a good one, and yes, Kiefer Sutherland’s character definitely freaked me out too 😉 Thanks, Chris!

      Like

      jmh said:
      2:47 pm at 14:47

      Thanks, Chris. Yep, Kiefer was pretty freaky. He’s much nicer in person, as long as you don’t ask him why he’s played so many bad guys. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    Elle said:
    1:59 pm at 13:59

    Nice interview. Now I want to find the movie version of ‘Salem’s Lot.

    Liked by 2 people

      jmh said:
      2:28 pm at 14:28

      Thanks, Elle! Watch it with me. I’d love to see it again.

      Liked by 1 person

      A.E. Siraki responded:
      3:33 pm at 15:33

      Thanks! The movie version of Salem’s Lot is quite memorable. Go for it 🙂

      Like

    Ashes and Dreams (@AshesandDreams1) said:
    10:35 pm at 22:35

    When I was a kid, I remember sneaking into the kitchen and seeing a little bit of Salem’s Lot – while my mom and sister were in the living room watching it. I was so freaked out after that. Curtains blowing in the wind – chills!
    Cool feature on Holli, A.E.!

    Liked by 2 people

      jmh said:
      10:38 pm at 22:38

      Thanks so much for commenting, Lisa! There was lots about that movie that was pretty freaky. The window scene is one I’ll never forget.

      Liked by 1 person

      A.E. Siraki responded:
      10:53 pm at 22:53

      It’s a creepy one for sure 😉 Thanks!

      Like

    Tana said:
    11:14 pm at 23:14

    I love all the kickboxing tie-ins!=-)
    Your answers were great!
    The only thing I can think of that scared me was “The Shining” movie, and “Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark” books….omgosh! Just look at the covers! They are so scary! Your teddy bear would love it in those books!=)

    Liked by 2 people

      jmh said:
      11:18 pm at 23:18

      Thanks, Tana! You’re so awesome for commenting. The Shining is a very creepy movie, as is Pet Sematary. With such good material to work with, it’s hard to go wrong, although many people do! Ugh…so many bad movies made from King’s novels!

      I’ll have to check out those books.

      Liked by 1 person

        Tana said:
        3:41 pm at 15:41

        Aw, you’re so awesome for being so awesome!=-)
        They’re MG I think, but just the idea of them still creeps me out! The illustrations were fantastic!

        Like

      A.E. Siraki responded:
      12:19 pm at 12:19

      Thanks for dropping by, Tana! “The Shining” is one of the long-standing creepiest of all time, and “Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark” was a great series!

      Like

        Tana said:
        3:42 pm at 15:42

        Can’t go wrong with either! 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

    Carmel @ Rabid Reads said:
    11:30 am at 11:30

    It’s rare that you see an author make a career out of writing from the get-go. Way to live your dream, J.H. Moncrieff! Gotta love it when you learn a new word. I’m still guilty of over-using additions to my vocabulary.

    Carmel @ Rabid Reads

    Liked by 2 people

      A.E. Siraki responded:
      12:01 pm at 12:01

      Thanks for dropping by, Carmel! JH Moncrieff’s living the dream is indeed inspirational 🙂

      Like

      jmh said:
      2:02 am at 02:02

      Thanks so much, Carmel! Writing non-fiction as a journalist, publicist, and marketer, along with some editing, helps pay the bills. The ultimate dream is to be a full-time novelist, but I’m happy to be able to work for myself and travel whenever possible.

      I don’t think I’ve used devour in a story since. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    Catherine Murphy said:
    6:36 pm at 18:36

    The Bear Who Wouldn’t Leave looks deliciously scary. Looking forward to the read!

    Liked by 2 people

      A.E. Siraki responded:
      7:50 pm at 19:50

      Thanks for stopping by, Catherine! I hope you enjoy the book when it comes out 🙂

      Like

      jmh said:
      2:04 am at 02:04

      Thanks so much, Catherine! I hope you’ll let me know what you think. I had so much fun writing this story.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.