Women in Horror Month Feature: Naomi Clark

naomi clarkAbout the Author:

Naomi Clark lives in Cambridge and is a mild-mannered office worker by day, but a slightly crazed writer by night. She has a perfectly healthy obsession with giant sea creatures and a preference for vodka-based cocktails. When she’s not writing, Naomi is probably either reading or watching 80s cartoon shows, and sometimes she manages to do all three at once.

As part of a neat little twist to my Women in Horror Month coverage this year, I’m going to feature fun little interviews with a few women horror writers and I think readers will get a kick out of them.

The next feature is for Naomi Clark, author of such books as Demonized and Undertow.

Funny story: I know precious few other Legacy of Kain video game series fans, so I was chuffed, as they say in Naomi’s neck of the woods, to discover that she is also a fan. And we also have a cartoon villain in common that we both adore. Read on for the interview!

1. First scary movie you watched

NC: I’m pretty sure the first horror film I saw was one of the Friday the 13th films. My parents had both seen The Exorcist when it originally came out and were convinced that watching horror films would scar their kids forever, so we didn’t have any horror material in the house whilst I was growing up! I had to wait until I was in my late teens and then watch things late at night after they’d gone to bed. Then when I went to university, I finally saw The Exorcist and was highly underwhelmed. I still love Friday the 13th, though!

friday the 13th

2. First scary book you read

NC: Stephen King’s Firestarter. I borrowed from a friend and had to hide it under my bed!

firestarter cover stephen king

3. First scary Halloween costume you wore

NC: I think it was probably either a ghost or a vampire – vampire seems more likely! I have definite memories of dressing up as Dracula when I was nine or ten. Suit and tie, slicked back hair, the works.

4. First scary thing you wrote

NC: I think at sixth form (for non-UK folks, this would be roughly equivalent to Grades 11 and 12 in North America, so basically, the final year or two years of high school) I wrote a short story about a boy murdering his abusive dad for a class assignment…it didn’t really fit the assignment at all, which I think was something like “write a story about someone overcoming a challenge.” Everyone in the class really liked it, though!

5. First scary character you had a crush on

NC: Oooh…I’m really not sure! I’ve always had a soft spot for Jason Voorhees, but I don’t think it was strictly a crush. Hannibal Lecter (as portrayed by Mads Mikkelsen) definitely gets my vote for a modern crush though! And I always liked the villains in cartoons more than the heroes – Skeletor, Mummra, Cobra Commander…much more interesting to me! I love any character who falls on the morally grey scale.

hannibal

 


undertow book coverNaomi released a new Ethan Banning private investigator novel called Undertow in August 2014 through Ragnarok Publications. Her website has more information on the series.

Here’s a description:
PI Ethan Banning is a desperate man.

He’s desperate to rid himself of the demon possessing him. He’s desperate to stop the nightmares and the evil urges it fills him with. He’s so desperate, he’s agreed to quit smoking and drinking in exchange for help. Professor Benedict Walters thinks he can exorcise Ethan with clean living and ancient history, but he won’t do it for free. Ethan’s got to track down Heather, a missing colleague of Walters in the quaint and creepy seaside town of Beacon’s Point. It should be simple…

But the locals are hostile and Heather may not want to be found. Even if Ethan can crack the case, he’s still got to deal with a trainee necromancer, his own fading self-control, and an ancient entity that terrifies Ethan’s own personal demon.

Crack the case? He may not even survive it.

Further Reading:
Here are a few interviews Naomi has done that you can read through:

I hope you’ve all enjoyed this chat with Naomi. If you’ve never had occasion to read her work before, I hope you’ll give it a try and if you’ve been a longtime fan, then I hope you enjoyed our little exchange 🙂

2 thoughts on “Women in Horror Month Feature: Naomi Clark”

Comments are closed.