Writing Soundtracks #1 — “The Crow”

Posted on

The Crow Soundtrack cover

From time to time, I’m going to post about some of my favourite soundtracks to listen to while I’m writing, or soundtracks that inspire the creative side of me in general.

The first of these is the soundtrack from the 1994 film, The Crow starring the late Brandon Lee (listen to the soundtrack here).

Not only is The Crow one of my absolute favourite movies of all time, but this soundtrack features the height of 90s alternative and grunge music from The Cure (“Burn” is one of the most amazing songs they recorded, period) to Pantera, Rage Against the Machine, and Stone Temple Pilots to name a few.

But even more amazing than the soundtrack to the film is its score, which features some very unique compositions and musical arrangements. You can check it out as a YouTube playlist.

As an interesting side note, the duduk featured throughout the soundtrack is played by music legend and the master of the instrument Djivan Gasparyan, who has also contributed to such films as Gladiator.

This soundtrack has a good mix of dark melodies and despair mixed with moments of lightness and hope, which always puts me in the right frame of mind for the scenes I’m constructing as part of my novels and short stories.

If you aren’t familiar with the score to the film, definitely give it a listen. One of my other favourite tracks featured on both the score and the soundtrack is “It Can’t Rain All The Time” by Jane Siberry. It’s one of the most moving pieces of music I’ve ever heard, and remains very close to my heart. It’s a co-mingling of beauty and tragedy and fits the soundtrack perfectly.

What do you listen to when you write? I know some people can’t write with any music playing, while others rock out during fight scenes to metal and rock, and then there’s folks like me who prefer music without words (too distracting) that sets a mood, which is why dark ambient is one of my go-tos. Sound off below!

