Review of Wolves (2014)

Posted on

wolves movie 2014
Wolves (2014) from imbd.com

A friend was asking other people if they had seen a movie from last year called Wolves, which included Jason Momoa. I had never heard of the film, but if you ever want to convince me to watch a movie, all you have to do is say “werewolves” and “Jason Momoa” and I’m there. 😉

So I watched it a few days ago and although it wasn’t the kind of werewolf movie that redefined the genre and there was nothing earth-shattering or really new in terms of mythology about it, having said that it’s a fun and enjoyable werewolf romp of a film.

One of the inspirations in terms of looks for the main character of the werewolf novel I’m working on now is actually Jason Momoa, so you can imagine my delight when I saw a fully realized version of what this wonderful actor would actually look like as a werewolf. Also, can I just take a moment to point out that his eyes, even when in “human” form, are both frightening and off-putting but also hypnotic and beautiful?

jason momoa as connory slaughter in wolves movie 2014
Image taken from review of “Wolves” on brutalashell.com, courtesy of Ketchup Entertainment

The plot is like many coming-of-age “Oh, no, I’m secretly a supernatural monster and no one told me!” stories that we’ve seen countless times before. Cayden Richards (Lucas Till) is a popular jock who realizes he’s a werewolf and after he believes he is responsible for the deaths of his parents, who have been slaughtered, he goes away to a town called Lupine Ridge where he thinks he might find answers about what he is and how to control it.

He finds Connory Slaugher (Jason Momoa), a mysterious and dangerous figure who he finds out is one of the last line of “pureborn” werewolves and who wants to kill Cayden. Throw in a complicated romantic subplot with a werewolf girl who is off limits, and you have yourself a movie.

There are a few plot twists thrown into the mix as the story goes on and even though the audience will see them coming from a mile away, the coolest part about the movie for me was the fight scenes.

I’m always on the lookout for werewolf fight scenes as I write quite a few of them myself and although this movie didn’t have any “Holy cow, that was awesome!” moments, at least I didn’t laugh during the fight scenes, which is a plus, because some the way some other films (*coughs* Van Helsing *coughs*) have handled werewolf fight scenes is…yeah, not great.

Overall, if you’re a fan of werewolf movies and werewolves in general, or if you like to see Jason Momoa get into fight scenes, then you’ll love Wolves, so check it out if you’re so inclined.

Here’s the trailer:

2 thoughts on “Review of Wolves (2014)

    jmh said:
    1:01 pm at 13:01

    Thanks for sharing your review! I’ve never found werewolves scary, but I think that’s because they always look so cheesy in movies. It’s really hard to pull off.

    My bf, however, is addicted to them. He has a full collection of werewolf movies.

    Liked by 1 person

      A.E. Siraki responded:
      1:08 pm at 13:08

      Fair enough 🙂 It really does depend on the film–some succeed far more at making werewolves scary, like “Ginger Snaps,” but some of them just have bad storytelling mixed with ridiculous CGI that looks corny. Glad to hear your bf is a fan of werewolf flicks, though 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.