NanoWriMo Update, Week 2

Posted on

national novel writing month 2015

So it has officially been two weeks (14 days) since I started NanoWriMo and I didn’t know what to expect. I heard from some other writers and blog posts that as the weeks went on, it would only get harder. They were right, but I had no idea how right they would be.

It is humbling to know that I have now written more words than there are words remaining. Today was a difficult day and I wasn’t sure if I would write more than the few hundred words I started out with, but I persevered. And now I’m kind of braindead 😉

To sum up, oh dear sweet Jesus was this week hard. Here are some highlights:

  • This may sound obvious, but writing every single day for 7 days a week is hard. I knew it would be, but until I became mired in it, I didn’t fully appreciate the extent of difficulty. I have to motivate myself every day.
  • Week one will make you think “I got this.” Week 2? Not so much. I can’t speak for veterans of NanoWriMo or authors who have zeroed in on a process that works for them, but most people will get stuck. I read a post by Jim C. Hines in which he discusses the dreaded 33% or 1/3 mark. It takes heaps of strength to get past it.
  • If you miss a day, don’t let that turn into two. After that it becomes much easier to say “Forget this.”
  • Even if you love your story and believe in it, doubt will set in. You’ll start to ask yourself if you’re good enough to write your project. I force myself to push past this every day.
  • Today, I set my timer for a few ten-minute bursts instead of winding up the whole thing to one hour and saying “go.” When I knew I had to write for 10 minutes, I didn’t feel as distracted as I do.
  • I used to think I couldn’t write fiction on my laptop without giving in to the lure of the Internet, so imagine my surprise when most of my writing sessions this week were on here. We’ll see how long this lasts.
  • My sessions needed to be longer this week to hit the same word count I was hitting last week in under an hour. I hope this gets better with time.
  • This week, I didn’t do writing exercises as warm-ups. I may have to go back to doing this for Week 3.
  • I find it frustrating that I can’t just start my day by jumping into fiction so far. I need to clear my mental clutter first, so I’m journal writing before fiction writing to help get me into a flow and a better state of mind.

What about you, fellow scribes? Are you all surviving the madhouse that is Week 2 and are you ready for the challenges that Week 3 is sure to bring? Sound off below!

2 thoughts on “NanoWriMo Update, Week 2

    jmh said:
    3:30 am at 03:30

    Thanks for the shout out! Much appreciated. 🙂 I’m glad it helped.

    This week kicked my butt too. It was super busy and I was super unmotivated and got way behind, after promising myself I wouldn’t do that this year. I’m getting caught up this weekend – another 4K tomorrow and I’ll be at par again.

    It is tough, and I still haven’t figured out why it’s so difficult, since 1,1667 words isn’t a lot for me to write in the day. However, in every other month, if something comes up, you can take a day or two off without the word count sneaking up on you.

    Therein lies the rub, I think. Don’t give up! You’re doing great.

    Liked by 1 person

      A.E. Siraki responded:
      9:21 pm at 21:21

      Hi Holli, thanks for dropping by 🙂
      Today kicked my butt and I stressed out a lot, so I hear you. Best of luck to you in getting caught up and I haven’t figured out why it turns out to be so incredibly difficult in a day but thanks for the words of encouragement and same to you 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.