NanoWriMo Update, Week 3

Posted on

national novel writing month 2015

I have just officially ended Week 3 of NanoWriMo and I’m sitting at just a couple thousand words shy of the 50,000 word target. For someone who didn’t think I’d make it past the first week, I’m proud to have made it this far.

The transition from Week 2 to Week 3 was by far the most painful. I got stalled and figured out it was because the timeline of events I plotted didn’t make sense. I spent most of Monday doing research but got to some actual writing that evening, and if I hadn’t forced myself to do that, I’m not altogether sure that I would still be moving forward. It was very close to turning into a day with no writing…which is what happened on Friday when I had a bit of a breakdown, but thankfully I was able to recharge my batteries for today.

Here are some more observations from this week:

  • I went back to the Neo Alphasmart because my laptop writing wasn’t working as much as it was in Week 2.
  • Hitting my word count gave me a grim sense of satisfaction, but didn’t make me happy. I started to question why I was doing Nano. I’ve had to slay the Demon of Self-Doubt almost every day, some days more than others, and it’s hard, but I fight for myself every day.
  • As the tone of my novel got darker and is only going to get pitch black as I go forward, I switched to my dark ambient playlist.
  • Nano has made me feel like I’m punishing myself by forcing myself to write every single day. Every day that a writer is able to write is something to be treasured, but it involves a huge amount of talking myself into it.
  • I still don’t have a set writing time or routine, which can be frustrating but I do know that evenings don’t work for me and although I’m able to get the words down in the morning, they don’t feel as strong and it is more of a mental struggle.
  • Online games are still helping me curb my impulse to get back into my social media profiles, but truth be told I’m looking forward to re-gaining access because there is such a thing as being too isolated.

Some blogs I read in preparation for Nano mentioned that by the end, the writer will be chomping at the bit and saying “Is it over yet? Dear God, please let it be over” but I don’t feel like that. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I am happy that the end is in sight because even when I went over 30,000 it still felt like 50,000 was something too far away.

After I went over 40,000 I felt closer, but the distance still felt far off for me. I would say the transition between passing from 30,000 words to 40,000 was the hardest for me. In the beginning, it was relatively easy to hit 10,000 then 15,000 but after that, it got progressively more difficult and things sort of slowed down. Now that the end is approaching, I feel a boost of positivity and a sense that I can do this.

If I finish the 50,000 words early, my plan is to continue writing for the rest of November as much as possible and hopefully into December but that remains to be seen. What are your plans? Where are you at with your Nano project? Do you plan to slog through the rest in December or will you take a break before you get into things again? Sound off below!

2 thoughts on “NanoWriMo Update, Week 3

    Fox said:
    6:58 pm at 18:58

    Woot! Home stretch!

    I’m super proud of you kicking this first draft’s butt. One more week, take a breath, then keep on truckin’. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      A.E. Siraki responded:
      8:26 pm at 20:26

      Thanks, Gef! I kicked this first draft’s butt indeed but now my battle is that I’m desperate to keep momentum. Your blog has made for great reading material in my downtime as usual 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.